Welcome to the Ontario Association of Library Technicians / Association des bibliotechniciens de l’Ontario

Award For Innovation

OALT/ABO's Award for Innovation recognizes 'a member(s) who has done something innovative in the workplace, for the association, or professional development.' It acknowledges members who've lead the way, changed the way our organization performs, improved our workplace or profession - they've shown that 'spark.'

In 2002 a committee of HURONIA members submitted the criterion which is the awards basis, in honour of the late Judy Keonig, a long-term member of OALT/ABO and HURONIA region.

To submit a nomination for this award please fill out the nomination form PDF version Word version [French version coming soon] and send it to info@oaltabo.on.ca

Past Recipients

2017 - N/A 
2016 - Lori O'Connor and Katherine Butler for their work on the on-line membership fee payments and on-line conference registration, respectively.
2013 - not awarded
2012 - not awarded
2011 - Lisa Eschli for her work on the OALT/ABO Members Only area, its new website design, including a system upgrade to Drupal 6.16.
2010 - Melissa Hall for implementing the new Group Membership category, resulting from the 2009 Group Membership Project.
2009 - Maria Ripley recognized for her work on OALT/ABO's Group Membership Development, testing the Pilot and designing the Rollout.
2008 - Melissa Hall, Stella Clark, and Theresa Ziebell recognized for their work as Conference Coordinators.
2007- Unknown
2006 - Marina Dranitsaris championed two combined firsts for OALT/ABO - its first 'virtual chapter' as well as its first 'special interest' chapter - the Book Club Chapter. Establishing the Book Club Chapter was a testament to Marina's will to 'make it happen.'
2005 - Susan Morley recognized for her use of information technology in the workplace. Her employer's first corporate webmaster, implementing and managing the first corporate website; designing and launching a web enabled information service, using Library Automation System (InMagic DB/Textworks) to provide staff access to Information Resources while 'on the road'.
2004 - None (per the minutes of the 31st Annual Business Meeting, May 15th 2004)
2003 - Marian Doucette was presented with OALT/ABO's first ever Award for Innovation. Her nomination was not based on a single event or project, but recognized her full body of work in the library world and her dedicated service to the association.